Christopher Roberts Wins By-Election for Chief Councillor

Christopher Roberts was elected as Chief Councillor of the Wei Wai Kum First Nation for the remainder of a four-year term ending in February 2019.

In a by-election Friday, April 20, 332 of the Nation’s 609 eligible voters cast their ballots. Christopher Roberts received 201 votes; Frances Roberts received 93; Dan Smith 19; George Quocksister Jr. 17. Two ballots were rejected.

“Thank you to all the candidates,” said Chris. “It takes courage and determination to step forward and show the membership you are willing to be a leader of our Nation, gilakas’la.”

Chris is resigning from his position as Regional Economic Development and Community Wellbeing Coordinator at Nanwakolas Council in order to devote his time and attention to his new role as Chief Councillor. He was sworn in as Chief Councillor on Monday, April 23 and has called the next meeting of Council for Monday, April 30 at 9 a.m.


“I would like to acknowledge and thank Councillor Curtis Wilson for stepping in as Acting Chief since last June,” said Chris. “This was a challenging task and Curtis’ commitment to the Nation is very much appreciated.” Chris also thanked and acknowledged former Chief Robert Pollard for his years of service until he stepped down  for health reasons.


“Other than Bob, I am related to all the previous Chiefs who have served our Nation,” said Chris. “I am  grateful for the path they have created and what they have made possible. I’m honored to continue this tradition of service and will do my utmost to live up to their standards of leadership. I plan to focus on what unites us as a nation, rather than what divides us.”

Chris had first been elected to Wei Wai Kum Council in February 2017 and resigned his Council seat in order to run for the position of Chief Councillor. As a result, a by-election for the vacant seat will take place Monday June 11. A nomination meeting takes place today from 5 – 9 p.m. at the KDC Health offices.

Questions about the by-election may be directed to Electoral Officer Heather Ware or Deputy Electoral Officer Roy Brooks at 250-650-6544 or via email at

The term for the following Councillors will continue until February 2019:

·         Shelly Haunch

·         Jason Price

·         Curtis Wilson

The term for the following Councillors will continue until February 2021:

·         Councillor Marian Atkinson

·         Councillor Christopher Drake

·         Councillor Tony Roberts Jr.